Exec Board Agenda April 11, 2017 3:30-6:00 Will C. Wood- Science Building S-13

- 1)- Approval of the minutes
- 2) Approval of the agenda
- 3) President's report (Tracy Begley)
- 4) Treasurer's report (Brenda Hensley)

5) - Committee/Chair reports - Action (Corey Penrose) -Bargaining (Brenda Hensley)

- -Grievance (Sylvia Aquino)
- -Equity Team (Alyson Brauning)
- -Health Care (Brenda Hensley & Jenny Brown)
- -Labor Council (Corey Penrose)
- -Member Engagement (Alyson Brauning)
- -PAC (Corey Penrose & Tracy Begley)
- -Special Ed (Tammy Parker)
- -Leave Bank and Julie Davis Scholarship (Christine Williams)
- Membership (Alyson Brauning)

5:00 *Visit by Mark Frazier

6)- New business

Proposed Bylaw change: see attached

- 7) Conference reports
- 8) Other
- 9) Adjournment

Current BYLAW Language

IX. EXECUTIVE BOARD

A. The Executive Board shall be composed of the Officers, the state council representatives (as long as the state council representative is an Active member of VTA), the past president, four (4) elementary directors (one for every 2 elementary schools), four (4) secondary directors (one from each comprehensive high school and one from each middle school), one (1) YRE director (one for 2 YRE elementary schools). In the event that the District does not have any year-round schools, the YRE director will become another elementary director, for a total of five (5) elementary directors. Chairs of the committees may attend Executive Board meetings for the purpose of reporting committee activities. Chairs of committees (i.e., grievance chair, bargaining chair, etc.) are not voting members of Executive Board, unless they simultaneously hold a position with voting rights.

PROPOSED NEW LANGUAGE

IX. EXECUTIVE BOARD

A. The Executive Board shall be composed of the Officers, the state council representatives (as long as the state council representative is an Active member of VTA), the past president, seven (7) atlarge elementary directors, two (2) middle school directors (one from each middle school), two (2) high school directors to represent Will C. Wood High School, Buckingham High School and Kimme Independent Charter Academy, and two (2) high school directors to represent Vacaville High School, Country High School and the ESC. Chairs of the committees may attend Executive Board meetings for the purpose of reporting committee activities. Chairs of committees (i.e., grievance chair, bargaining chair, etc.) are not voting members of Executive Board, unless they simultaneously hold a position with voting rights.

Rationale: Middle School Directors currently represent 50 members each, while Elementary and High School Directors represent a lot more than 50 members. To have more equitable representation, Brenda used the following numbers to determine the number of directors for each level:

Elementary	
Alamo	30
BV	50

Callison	35
Cooper	45
Fairmont	39
Hemlock/ACE	26
Larsen	2
Markham	49
Orchard	21
Padan	41
Sierra Vista	21
TOTAL	359
Divided by 50	7.18

VHS	92	WCW	80
CHS	15	ISP	7
ESC	10	BUCK	29
Total	117	Total	116
Divided by 50	2.34	Divided by 50	2.32

Logistics: We can follow through with our election, and if this bylaw passes, we can hold an August election to fill the remaining spots.