Vacaville Teachers award $12,000 dollars in scholarships to future teachers

Seven graduating seniors will receive money to help start teaching careers

Vacaville – As the state of California grapples with unprecedented shortages in the teacher preparation pipeline, the Vacaville Teachers Association will continue to do it’s part to encourage the class of 2016 to become teachers by awarding $12,000 dollars in six different scholarships to graduating seniors from Vacaville High School, Will C Wood, Buckingham and Country High.
 “These scholarships are funded by voluntary contributions from members of the Vacaville Teachers Association and other VUSD personnel,” said Moira McSweeney, the president of the Vacaville Teachers Association. “We, as a union and a district, are thrilled to be doing our part to help six deserving students return to our district and become educators.”

 The scholarship recipients are, from Will C Wood, Katrina Basinger and Joshua Hunter. VHS seniors Hannah Wernecke and Olivia Jones will also be receiving scholarships as well as Hayley Wylie from Buckingham. Rounding out the list of winners are Ana Spadorcio and Luis Montano from Country High.

 “These winners were selected after passionate debate amongst the hard-working members of our scholarship committee,” said McSweeney. “Since there were so many high-quality applicants for this scholarship, the decision by our committee members wasn’t an easy one, but we are so happy to do our part to ensure that the community of Vacaville will continue to have the best educators working with our kids.”

 Seniors who are interested in applying for these scholarships in 2017 should visit their schools counseling offices to complete applications and, for more information, please visit

Social Media Widget Powered by Acurax Web Development Company